Jim-Rose.com

It Could Be Worse

Hating Oil (or, How I Learned To Stop Worrying And Love Insanity)

leave a comment »

Had an interesting Twitter exchange with haters of “Big Oil” the other day:

Screen Shot 2013-01-21 at 11.10.11 AM

It was at this point that I was at a loss. Essentially, I’d just been told by Connor that the Sun is not hot, but in fact, it’s cold.

It’s mind-boggling how so many people find it in themselves to hate that which gives them life. I’m not talking about mommy…I’m talking about that black stuff in the ground. Everything we have in our lives is thanks to oil. The way we live, the way we travel, the tools we use, the food we eat…it’s all thanks to oil. Oil drives society. It’s the reason my house is 72-degrees right now. It’s why I was able to eat a delicious breakfast. It’s why I’m able to travel to places I want to go at speeds exceeding 60 miles-per-hour. And before you say, “Well, that’s natural gas, or that’s coal” yes, that’s true in many things, but what gets those things working? Coal didn’t get the guy working at the coal mine to work. It was oil. And yes, we have solar and wind power…and what lubricates the gears and mechanisms to those alternative energies? Oil. What makes all the synthetic plastics used in pretty much every industry? Oil.

But I’m supposed to hate oil. I’m suppose to hate the oil companies. I’m supposed to hate the guys that invest billions to study land masses to see if they have oil, buy expensive equipment to drill for the oil and refine the oil and then, directly or indirectly, sell it to me so I don’t have to start a campfire to keep warm or hope and pray my food hasn’t spoiled while sitting in a hole in the ground or have to walk miles to get a haircut. What bastards!

The hatred of oil – for those who aren’t merely sheep following the liberal line – is a hatred of humanity. They don’t hate the oil so much as the fact that they hate humans ruling the planet and living in comfort while the rest of G-d’s creatures (outside of man’s realm) fight for survival on a daily basis. There’s nothing wrong with expecting the oil companies to be environmentally responsible, but that’s not what the environmental movement is about. They, like al-Qaeda, want to take the culture back centuries. They are not progressive, they are regressive. Don’t be fooled.

UPDATE: This ties in nicely to my above thesis. Told you.

Written by Jim Rose

January 21, 2013 at 11:27 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 384 other followers