Kanye West: Posterboy For Our Celebrity Culture

News tonight that rapper Kanye West, who we’re often told is the greatest musical genius of his generation and so on and so forth, made a complete ass of himself yet again at an awards show. You can read the details here if you’re so inclined.

I just hate the fact that I’m now old enough to say things like “this generation has no respect” or “I just don’t get popular music these days.” Nevertheless, that day has arrived for me. Granted, it’s the same in every generation…my father, I’m told, wasn’t too crazy about the Beatles’ hair cuts when they invaded America, but it just boggles my mind that someone like Kanye West is a hero to so many when he’s nothing but school in summertime (i.e. no class).

Leave a Reply

