Governor Chris Christie Is The Real Deal

Recently, Rush Limbaugh and Michelle Malkin have sung the praises of newly elected New Jersey Governor Chris Christie. I’ve heard about his recent actions involving the state budget and was impressed with what I read, but didn’t research much further. Then today I sat down and watched a 25 minutes video of Governor Christie speaking to a group of New Jersey’s mayors. He spoke without notes or teleprompter.

To put it plainly, I’m sold.

I can say without equivocation that his words are what I have been waiting to hear my entire adult life from a politician. This is what I must assume young conservatives and libertarians felt when they first heard Barry Goldwater speak in the 1950s. The video is here (Hat tip: Ace) and if you’re short on time, just watch the last 10 minutes. Christie tore apart the usual political platitudes. He didn’t lecture the populous on what they needed to do, he lectured the government on what it must do. And he isn’t making the standard promise to “save us from the pain.” Far from it. He points out that pain is on the way, but it’s the only option.

Now, I’m not a genius at reading people. I’ve been wrong before, but everything I’ve seen from Governor Christie tells me this guy is destined for higher office. It’s like having Ronald Reagan’s brain inside William Taft’s body. It’s early in the game, but Christie might indeed be the one we’ve been waiting for.

4 thoughts on “Governor Chris Christie Is The Real Deal

  1. I didn't say he was a conservative, though I admit I strongly implied it with the "Reagan's brain" bit. The broader point was that he's doing what he said he would do, so far anyway. Remember, I'm the Libertarian Popinjay, which is slightly different from being a Conservative Popinjay.

  2. He's doing what he said he would? Has he gutted COAH? Has he reduced taxes? Is he angling to take away property tax rebates when he said he would restore them?Again, read my blog piece.

  3. Has he turned water into wine? Has he lowered the seas? It's New Jersey! If he can accomplish one thing on your list, it'll be miraculous. He's not the emperor, he's the governor and plenty of people are going to fight him tooth and nail. Let's stay in realm of reality here.

Leave a Reply

