Tea Party Express In My Backyard

I’d be remiss if I let this weekend pass without a few words about the Tea Party Express which began just down the road from me in Searchlight, Nevada.

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to attend due to having a lot of things on my plate, but I was there in spirit. Ironically, one of the things that kept me away from the TPE was covering the Mint 400 race in the Nevada desert north of Las Vegas. The Mint 400 was made famous by Hunter S. Thompson’s book Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas. I saw it’s ironic because Robert Stacy McCain (like a monster reincarnation of Horatio Alger) was at the TPE to cover the story. McCain is the modern-day, conservative version of Hunter and he has a complete roundup of the weekends events.

These are crazy times and my home, Las Vegas, always find a way to be in the middle of the latest brouhaha.

“I feel a bit lightheaded; maybe you should drive…”

Leave a Reply

