California Prop 8 Overturned

This gay marriage issue is a tough one for me. In a nutshell, I really don’t care. That is to say, it’s just not an issue I can get real interested in or worked up about. I have gay friends, and frankly, if the law allowed them to marry, I’d be happy to serve as best man…and if not, life would go on.

At least that’s my view. My biggest problem with this issue is that it hinges on how others see you. If someone says he is upset because the government or his fellow countrymen won’t recognize he and his partner as a married couple, my immediate reaction is “Why do you care what other people think? Does your love have to be justified by other people?” Of course, there’s also the issue of money. Marriage comes with benefits…tax breaks and the like. If it’s about money, then it’s a different issue than if it’s about social acceptance. So which is it?

If someone said, “Jim Rose, we don’t recognize your marriage to that stripper because we find you morally offensive” my reaction would be, “That’s your problem.” But I suppose if the federal government said no Nevadans can marry, I would be a little annoyed. That wouldn’t happen however, because the issue of marriage involves gender and is tied in with religion. Marriage is both a legal contract and a spiritual enjoining, so there’s no simple way to define it.

I’m all over the place on this, but you can see why it’s a dilemma for me. If I had to make a ruling I would say make civil-unions among same-sex couple legal (state by state) and keep same-sex marriage illegal, but if that were made legal, I’d lose no sleep.

To me, the bigger issue in all this is the perversion of the Constitution. I don’t claim to be a constitutional scholar, but I find it hard to believe that marriage, sex, what have you, is a 14th Amendment issue or an issue in any part of the document. It has nothing to do with it. And it’s creating a slippery slope. That, my friends, gets me worked up.

UPDATE: William Duncan at NRO adds this nugget: (emphasis mine)

It is worth noting that, since California gives all the benefits of marriage to same-sex couples through another legal status, the idea that most or even many voters were acting out of hatred is pretty unlikely.

So money and benefits, at least in California, are not an issue. So what this comes down to is being able to use the world “marriage” and being recognized as being “married.” Sorry, but that’s not gonna win me over.

2 thoughts on “California Prop 8 Overturned

  1. "If I had to make a ruling I would say make civil-unions among same-sex couple legal (state by state) and keep same-sex marriage illegal…"That was actually California's policy prior to the court's ruling.

Leave a Reply

