Condi Rice Reveals Tension Of 9/11

In a Channel 4 documentary on 9/11, former NSA head Condi Rice tells the story of “ordering” President Bush to stay out of Washington:

“I said: ‘You cannot come back here. The United States of America is under attack, you have to go to safety. We don’t know what is going on here’.

“He said: ‘I’m coming back’. I said: ‘You can’t’.

“I said to him in a raised voice, and I had never raised my voice to the president before, I said: ‘You cannot come back here’. I hung up.

“The president was quite annoyed with me to say the least.

“I’ve known the president a long time and I knew that he wanted nothing more than to be there at the helm of the ship.” 

One of my biggest annoyances with the Bush-bashers is the criticism of his actions immediately following 9/11: staying in the classroom to finish the reading of My Pet Goat and calmly letting people know what had happened and then exiting the room. If Bill Clinton or Barack Obama had done this, we’d still be singing their praises for their calm, cool leadership. Then they try to say he was afraid to come back to Washington, which obviously isn’t true. You can disagree with a man political or philosophically, but when you make irrational charges, you’ve lost any respect you might have had coming.

Leave a Reply

