Gay Marriage And The Needs For Acceptance Into The Collective

So New York has passed a bill allowing for same-sex marriage. As a right-libertarian, my take on gay marriage is pretty simple: I really don’t care. I have gay friends, and for some it’s an important issue. I don’t have any reason I would begrudge them this wish if it makes them happy, but we need to get to the heart of the issue.

Why do gays want to get married? Well, for one, it would offer advantages in both taxes and health benefits if you could file as married or have your partner covered under your employer’s health insurance. But for most, it’s a desire to be a part of the collective, to be like everyone else.

Maybe it’s because I’ve been such a loner most of my life that I find it hard to relate to this desire. Why do they, the homosexual community, want to be like everyone else? The easy joke is, you’ve got a good thing, why ruin your life with marriage like us straight folk?

But alas, I’m not the norm. Most people want to be accepted by society, want to be part of it. I remember some years ago when I was living in Minnesota I was having dinner with some law students and they were outraged that the Mayor of St. Paul didn’t want gays to march in some parade. “It’s an outrage that the Mayor doesn’t see gays as equals!” I said, “So what? You’re telling me gays can’t exist unless some Mayor recognizes them in the ontological sense?” (Yeah, I liked using big words on them.) “What difference does it make to their very being? If a Mayor said attractive Brad Pitt-looking men couldn’t march in a parade, I wouldn’t care (remember, this is a hypothetical), it wouldn’t make me feel like less of a person.”

Now you may say that being a white Anglo-Saxon American, I can’t relate to discrimination, and I get that, but I still can’t bring myself to sympathize with people that feel they aren’t whole unless “society” condones everything about them. And I’m sorry, but gays not allowed to get married is not the same as black people being forced to the back of the bus or different water fountains or being denied the right to vote. It’s just not the same.

But now they can get married in New York. Fine, good for them, but there’s a more sinister aspect to this. Just as the communists infiltrated the hippie movement and the civil rights movement in the 1960’s, the campaign to get same-sex marriage legalized on a state and eventually federal level is filled with people on a mission to destroy organized religion and the American culture of the nuclear family.

Again, I’m in the middle here as I’m an agnostic and have never been a religious man though I was raised with a Judeo-Christian ethic which still shapes my character. Nevertheless, despite my atheism, I do NOT believe that G-d should be taken out of the pledge of allegiance or off the currency nor should nativity scenes be forbidden from public venues. When you say these thing offend you, you have outed yourself as practicing a form of religion. I’m a true agnostic…I can’t believe in a G-d unless I have some hard, scientific evidence, however, I understand that a belief in G-d has shaped man for thousands of years and is the basis of our culture. It does not offend me or get in my way. If people are praying in my vicinity, nothing happens to me…my face doesn’t melt, my ears don’t burn, my life is unchanged.

Yet, these rapid atheist are on a mission to destroy any vestige of G-d in our society and the push for gay-marriage is a tool to that end. You can tepidly support gay marriage like myself but still recognize that there’s more going on here than meets the eye.

Leave a Reply

