Doubt If Doubt Itself Be Doubting

As the name of this blog not so subtly implies, I’m a libertarian. Note however that I just wrote that in the lower-case. The Libertarian Party has been a joke, like most third parties, for a number of years. The problem hasn’t been on the fiscal side, but more north, south, east and west of the border, i.e. foreign policy. The Libertarian Party view of foreign policy/military matters is a well-dressed, well-read, think-tanky version of Ramsey Clark’s Cavalcade of Petulant Proles (or CCCP for short). America should stay out of everyone’s business no matter how much it may affect our business. Hell, we probably brought it on ourselves, but if it really does become a big problem, the best thing to do is to further turn inward: no military bases, no opinions, no outreach, nothing. That’s the Libertarian way.

For me, libertarianism has always meant rugged individualism and voluntary communal action. In other words, you do your own thing but when problems arise, you do what you think is best along with your like-minded peers in accordance with a few basic principles. What happens in Europe, the Middle East, Australia, et al does affect me and affect my country.

But you’ve no doubt heard all those arguments and I abhor regurgitation. What’s on my mind is the recent statement by Rick Perry that our Congress should be part-time and we’d be better off if it were as such. Gut reaction is great idea, but again, that’s the gut not the brain. Of course, the President has no recourse to do this due to that whole separation of powers thing, but libertarian that I am, I agree with Mark Levin’s statement that every day that the Congress meets we lose a little bit of our liberty.

The gang at AEI say the Congress meets too little:

“The big problem is that members of Congress aren’t spending enough time in Washington. And this current House has the smallest number of days in session in modern memory, and they’ve pretty much pushed a lot of urgent matters, including many of these budgetary matters, off the table.”

Um…so if Congress had more days in session they’d deal with more pressing matters and not those that line their pockets and appease their base? Maybe I’m just a pessimist but I’m gonna have to call bullshit on that one. The Congress goes to the highest bidder. You have your principled men like Senator Jim DeMint, but for the most part, Harry Reid is the die-cast of the members of this legislative body. Power is paramount.

A part of me says let’s do it, let’s limit the legislative branch and “get things done.” Another part of me says democracy is hard and sometimes self-defeating, but it’s the best we’ve got and let the chips fall where they may.

Some will take my intellectual quandary and say, “see, you’re no libertarian” but I think it makes my position stronger still. Libertarianism can’t be real if it becomes intransigent dogma like that of Lew Rockwell and Ron Paul. Philosopher David Hume (who basically proved all philosophy is crap, but that’s another blog post for another time) said “A wise man proportions his belief to the evidence,” while Lord Byron said There is something pagan in me that I cannot shake off. In short, I deny nothing, but doubt everything.” I fancy myself a mix of these two statements. Perhaps I should be known as the Nihilist Popinjay.

Or not. Whatever.

Leave a Reply

