What Justice Ginsburg Should Have Said

Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg caused quite a still last week in the Blogosphere (since the MSM won’t touch the story) over remarks she made about the U.S. Constitution:

“I would not look to the U.S. Constitution if I were drafting a constitution in the year 2012,” Ginsburg said in the interview, which aired on Jan. 30 on Al-Hayat TV.

The subject of the interview being Egypt. Now I would agree with Ginsburg if she had said the following:
“Do not look to the U.S. Constitution as a guide. The document is loaded with vague clauses that allow someone like me to sit on the high court and actually make law. Hell, I don’t have to follow the Constitution at all…I just decide what I would like it to say and judge accordingly. It’s actually a pretty sweet deal, but if you’re looking to set up a true democracy that isn’t ruled by a tiny elite, you should probably keep looking elsewhere. And even if you’re able to author such a document, people like me will find ways to render it meaningless within a few generations. So, you know, don’t knock yourselves out.”
Leave a Reply

