The Future Of Blogging (Here At Least)

Readers of this blog will note that I went all minimalist this weekend. I’ve been pondering whether to continue blogging at all as I fear the the medium itself may be dead or dying. Of course, not for everyone, but the gap between the great blog sites and the second-tier sites has widened and with the ascension of Twitter, many of us (myself included) have left our blogs to rust while we spend our days sending out little quips in the forms of tweets and retweets.

Not that there’s anything wrong with that. Twitter fits my personality which has always been to make quick, off the cuff remarks. Manifestos have never been my strong suit. But there is a place for blogging when one wants to make a larger point. I’ve decided it’s time to scale back on the site, get rid of the useless widgets and make this blog more of a daily journal in the style of James Lileks. Of course, that will take some commitment as well, but nothing ventured…

I’m also on the fence as to whether I should even call myself the Libertarian Popinjay anymore. While I’m still libertarian in spirit, should Obama win another term I may end up embracing existentialism (assuming that is what I think it is).

How pretentious. Hope you’ll join me.

Leave a Reply

