ESPN’s Rob Parker Apologizes For Racist Comments on RGIII

But does he really? Here’s his statement:

I blew it and I’m sincerely sorry. I completely understand how the issue of race in sports is a sensitive one and needs to be handled with great care. This past Thursday I failed to do that. I believe the intended topic is a worthy one. Robert’s thoughts about being an African-American quarterback and the impact of his phenomenal success have been discussed in other media outlets, as well as among sports fans, particularly those in the African-American community. The failure was in how I chose to discuss it on First Take, and in doing so, turned a productive conversation into a negative one. I regrettably introduced some points that I never should have and I completely understand the strong response to them, including ESPN’s reaction. Perhaps most importantly, the attention my words have brought to one of the best and brightest stars in all of sports is an unintended and troubling result. Robert Griffin III is a talented athlete who not only can do great things on the field, but off the field handles himself in a way we are all taught – with dignity, respect and pride. I’ve contacted his agent with hopes of apologizing to Robert directly. As I reflect on this and move forward, I will take the time to consider how I can continue to tackle difficult, important topics in a much more thoughtful manner.

Bullshit. His mask slipped and he got caught, so he’s covering his ass in order to save his career, but let’s look at the much deeper problem.

I believe the intended topic is a worthy one.

That’s his problem right there. No, it’s not a worthy topic. It should be a non-issue. When MLK said we should be judged by the content of our character rather than the color of our skin, do people think he was just riffing? just throwing out ideas? If the so-called civil rights activists really meant most of the things they say, RGIII’s race wouldn’t be discussed at all, but the truth of the matter is the goal of these civil rights activists and pundits isn’t equality, it’s race separatism.

The failure was in how I chose to discuss it on First Take, and in doing so, turned a productive conversation into a negative one.

Wrong again. What, pray tell, is productive about focusing on race? Give me one positive that comes out of that?

Bottom line…he’s a racist asshole and ESPN is guilty by association for fostering this dreck in their desire to be “edgy.” But what bothers me more is this both-ways crap. ESPN should either say we’re not going there and cancel that First Take show altogether or go for broke and say this is what we do and if you don’t like it, don’t watch. But like Joe Manchin, they’d rather walk the tightrope. Screw ’em.

Thus Spat Zarathustra

Leave a Reply

